Training for my first Marathon

I know it is been almost nine months without updating my blog…

 

After the finish line of the amazing Half Marathon I ran in Geneva (May 6th 2012) I felt without a goal. I felt as emptied of any target…

 

I surely kept running, but in a lazy way… no more training programs, no more countdowns to races.

 

I started biking as well: I started road biking. During the past summer I used to cycle for 200/300 km per week with my bike, a Bianchi via Nirone 7. i discovered another very pleasant dimension of endurance. I put aside the running… since…

 

Since I decided to finally train for the marathon I want to achieve from the day I started running. I scheduled the race for April 7th, for the Milano City Marathon 2013.

 

Now or never! I told to myself.

 

So I planned 16 weeks of training (it is my very first marathon so I want to take it without hurry). I bought a camelback pack, thousands of glucose packs (!!!), vital elements for a diabetic long distance runner.

 

So far, my legs are responding very well to the huge amount of kilometers I run every week. So far I did not experienced any hypoglycemia during my long runs: one glucose pack every 8-10km actually keeps blood sugar level under control.

 

So far all is going on perfectly.

This entry was posted in Insulin Runner and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

